“OCD” Mom

Standard

Instantly Cured

Oh my. If you are OCD, and longing for the day when your child begins to “clean like you do”…..I hate to burst your bubble – but let me just go ahead and warn you now.

Back in the day, when I was a single mom of 3 children, I used to be like that (completely OCD about housecleaning/organizing, etc.), and it drove my kids crazy. It was to the point that we literally ended up bickering our way through several therapy sessions ($$$) over it.

Woman working from home, three kids playing in background

The children (all under 12) told the therapist how I was “driving them crazy” with constant housecleaning, and harassing them to do the same. After all, these little “apples” did fall from my tree!

Nevertheless, one day, my precious middle child was invited to be on the 6 o’clock news to be interviewed for getting a Big Sister with Big Brothers and Big Sisters of America. When the news anchor asked her what she likes to do for fun, THIS is what she told the entire viewing audience of Houston, Texas (in her sweetest most innocent little girl voice): “We don’t have a lot of things to do because we’re usually so busy cleaning house.” 😦

Surely, feeling like they had misunderstood her, they asked a SECOND time to clarify. And the second time, she said the exact same thing AGAIN!!!

I was INSTANTLY cured of MY problem :/

#hasseledatworkthenextday

Leave a Reply

