Just Let it Roll

Standard

I can seclude myself from others, in a nice little comfy hole,

Or I can leap and trust God to catch me, open up, and let it roll.

Lying just beneath the surface, let all the truth be told,

Tears are easier to let go of, than they are to staunchly hold.

When God made me just rest assured – He did not break the mold,

There are many of us still grieving, yet another departed soul.

We all deal solemnly with our grief, and in so many different ways,

Some of it slowly goes away, and some of it lingers and stays.

“Don’t let it out! Don’t let out!” I hear the devil say,

“Once it starts I promise you, it just won’t go away!”

“Shut up devil! Get out of my life! You’re nothing but a liar!”

 Listen to you – you evil thing? The one who was cast into the fire?”

Little by little as life goes by, I slowly keep letting off steam,

Like a pressure pot that steadily simmers, until it’s ready to come clean.

Do not worry, the Bible says, the deep grief, is NOT here to stay,

I do believe that this is so, no matter what other people may say.

People only know what they’ve been told, or what is true for “them”,

Let not their careless unmindful words, leave me hanging on a limb.

I just put one foot in front of the other, and go forth day after day,

Soon the weight will begin to shift, and will go the other way.

Days turn into weeks, turn into months, turn into years,

Every step of the way I know, that God is catching all of my tears.

He catches them in His hands, He doesn’t miss a single one,

He records them in the book He keeps, as His day is never done.

Can you even imagine a God so big, and who truly cares so much?

If He only had some skin on Him, so I could feel His loving touch.

But “Where is Got at times like these,  I surely need his help!

After all, I’m only human, I can’t do this by myself”!

I rest assured He’s by my side, and that He’ll never ever leave,

He’s standing by as close to me, as the very breath that I breathe.

Let It Roll!

2 thoughts on “Just Let it Roll

Leave a Reply

